Lazy Lemon Chicken Legs

April 8, 2010 at 8:22 pm | Posted in GFCF, Recipes, YUM | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

by Shannon Penrod

I admit it.  I am a lazy cook.  I like to do things the REALLY simple way.  I know some people think of the really simple way as going through the drive through at a fast food restaurant, but I don’t have the luxury of doing that on my son’s diet, and his diet makes the difference in him being able to talk and learn, so I’m not giving up on that!  But I don’t want to give up on keeping things simple either.  So over the years I’ve come up with some really easy recipes that get the job done.  This is a fav!  It takes less than 5 minutes to prep the chicken, about 45 minutes to cook it and makes enough for several meals!

Ingredients:

A jumbo package of chicken legs – you can remove the skin if you want (it’s healthier without it – but I’m lazy and leave it on)

One large lemon

1 tablespoon of dried basil

1/4 Cup olive oil or canola oi (you can mix them if you like)

Salt to taste

3 Cloves of garlic

Press the garlic cloves into a large bowl.  Juice the lemon into the bowl, add the basil and oil and salt.  It should smell great.  Rinse the chicken and toss 4 pieces at a time in the mixture. I don’t dry the chicken before tossing, that’s how lazy I am!  Toss the chicken and put it into a shallow baking dish.  Arrange the legs so you can fit in as many as possible!  Bake at 400 degrees for approximately 45 minutes.  I don’t even turn the chicken.  When done the chicken should be a nice brown on top and bottom and the meat should be falling off the bone.  Check at least one piece to make sure that it is done at the bone.  The juices should run clear.  I remove the chicken from the pan almost immediately and let it cool on a clean white dish towel – this helps to drip grease and means that I can start soaking the pan almost immediately.  I always let the pan soak in hot soapy water overnight which makes for quick clean up the next morning.

The chicken is great hot or cold and packs well for picnics, as long as you bring napkins to clean hands afterward.  It’s great lazy cooking!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yum! Going to try this recipe. Thanks Shannon!

  2. ok – these are great! I now make them all the time and have passed the recipe on to family members. Thanks for an easy, tasty, healthy recipe that is GFCF.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

